This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this website, you consent to our use of these cookies. To learn more about cookies and their use on our site please click the additional information link.

How, James Denison (Jim)

Staff Member (1958-1965)
Passed away November 19, 2019
Born in Annapolis Royal, in 1926, Jim was the youngest son of Lewis Morris Wilkins How and Emma Eugenia (Merriam) How. Educated at Annapolis Academy and Fredericton High School, Jim was then employed by The Canadian Press in Halifax as Rewrite Staff. Later he trained at the Vesper George School of Art, Boston, Massachusetts. He graduated in Interior and Industrial Design. He spent his summers employed at Port Royal Habitation as well as operating the Good Cheer Inn. Jim took a year off to explore the U.K. and the continent and was present at Queen Elizabeth’s Coronation in 1953. Jim graduated from King’s University, Halifax, in Journalism. This was followed by 12 years of teaching at King’s College School and Edgehill, Windsor. Jim was offered the Directorship of the Glace Bay Miner’s Museum - one of Nova Scotia’s major centennial Programs, in 1967. In the early years of Fortress Louisbourg’s reconstruction, Jim became Head of Interpretation and Curator of Collections and Buildings as well as being instrumental in the Costume Department. Nearing retirement, the family relocated to Annapolis Royal and Jim accepted the position of Interpretation Officer for Fort Anne, Port Royal, Grand Pre and Fort Edward. During retirement, he served as both a member and Chairman on the Annapolis Royal Development Commission Board, as well as Head of the Heritage Advisory Committee and the Design Review Committee. His beloved Annapolis Royal had registered 125 heritage buildings. He was a life-member (and Past President) of the Annapolis Royal Historical Association, Annapolis Heritage Society and the Canadian Heritage Foundation. As an adherent of the Anglican Book of Common Prayer, he was Vestry Clerk, St. Bartholemews, Louisbourg and taught Sunday School and Scripture for 35 years. He was a Life Member of Heritage Canada and Heritage Trust of Nova Scotia. Jim made history come alive! He was both an Historian and a Teacher in all facets of life - either when up on stage, at mealtimes, weeding the garden or during conversation while washing the dishes. Familiar family expressions would be quoted peppering daily activities not to mention in the many wonderful letters he wrote. A chair, or - more often than not – a set of chairs, would arrive home to be resurrected; a new cane seat or rush seat perhaps, to make it whole again. In the evening, he could be found either hooking a rug in the basement or playing hymns on his prized melodian. Jim and his wife Pauline, loved to dance. The dance floor was their stage. Theatre played a large role in Jim’s life too both in front of the curtain and with costume design. He had a sense of vision and humour that was keen, and was well-known for discovering treasures in consignment shops, department stores and garden centers. In 1982, Pauline and Jim were fortunate to acquire the 1708 DeGannes-Cosby house and over the span of 25 years, preserve and furnish its interior - a national treasure and labour of love. Predeceased by Dorothy (John) Whitaker, Henry (Harry) (Juanita) How, Survived by wife Pauline Elizabeth How (Hart), Alyn Thomas Maynard (Cathy-Lynn) How, Susan Beattie (Dwayne), Ottawa and Amy How, England, Sister-in-law Jean Hart and four grandchildren, Lauren Elizabeth Lewis, Diana Jean Lewis, Emma Merriam Beattie and Alexander Denison Henshaw Beattie. A funeral service will be held on Friday, November 22, 2019 at St. Luke’s Anglican Church, Annapolis Royal, at 7 pm. Donations in memory of Jim’s long standing preservation of 477 Saint George Street, Annapolis Royal may be made to The Historical Association of Annapolis Royal. This is the family home that has recently been declared a National Historic Site.
Donations may also be made to the Annapolis Royal Historic Gardens. Arrangements have been entrusted to Middleton Funeral Home, 398 Main Street, toll free 1-855-825-3448. Online guest book may be signed by visiting:
    • BE MORE


KES inspires academic, athletic and artistic excellence with a commitment to the traditional community ideals of gentleness and learning, dignity and respect, so that students may discover and cultivate their unique potential, prepare for post-secondary education and develop a life-long enthusiasm for the spiritual and intellectual growth necessary to flourish in the contemporary world.

Contact Us

King's-Edgehill School
33 King's-Edgehill Lane
Windsor, Nova Scotia
B0N 2T0 Canada
Phone: (902) 798-2278

Privacy Policy
King's-Edgehill School is a coeducational boarding and day school for grades 6 through 12, located in Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada.